Tag Archives: New England

Professor and alumnus honored

Professor of English Suzanne Matson’s novel Ultraviolet, which chronicles the disappointments and dilemmas of the women of one family across 80 years, was selected by the Massachusetts Center for the Book as a 2018 “Must Reads” fiction title. Areas of … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors, Awards/Honors, Boston College Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Slavery in New England

In Black Lives, Native Lands, White Worlds (University of Massachusetts Press/Bright Leaf, 2019), historian Jared Ross Hardesty tells the story of slavery in New England, focusing on individual stories of enslaved people and bringing their experiences to life. He also … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Lifting the fog

In the tradition of Thoreau’s Walden, Boston College graduate and former Presidential Scholar Will Dowd takes readers on a journey through a year of New England weather in Areas of Fog (Etruscan Press, 2017), a collection of essays that combines wit and poetry … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment