Category Archives: Alumni Authors

Lifting the fog

In the tradition of Thoreau’s Walden, Boston College graduate and former Presidential Scholar Will Dowd takes readers on a journey through a year of New England weather in Areas of Fog (Etruscan Press, 2017), a collection of essays that combines wit and poetry … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Blackbird

Boston College alumna N.D. Gomes has published her second novel, Blackbird (HarperCollins UK/HQ Young Adult, 2017), a young adult thriller. Set on the island of Orkney, Scotland, the book tells the story of 14-year-old Alex McCarthy’s quest to solve the … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Iceland Poppies

Boston College alumna Katherine St. Germain Smith applies her experience as a physician specializing in child and adolescent psychiatry into her new fantasy book for middle school readers. Life and therapeutic insights are woven into Iceland Poppies (Yorkshire Publishing, 2017), … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Dr. Philip Landrigan, children’s health advocate

Dr. Philip Landrigan, one of the world’s leading advocates of children’s health whose pioneering research on the effects of lead poisoning in children contributed to the U.S. government’s decision to remove lead from gasoline and paint, will present “The Impact … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Family time

American families are busy and often find themselves overcommitted and exhausted. In their new book, Reclaiming Family Time: A Guide to Slowing Down and Savoring the Gift of One Another (Word Among Us Press, 2017), Boston College alumni Tim and Sue … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Spiritual Grammar

Dominic Longo, an assistant professor of theology and director of the Muslim-Christian Dialogue Center at the University of St. Thomas (Minnesota), will lecture on his new book Spiritual Grammar: Genre and the Saintly Subject in Islam and Christianity on Oct. 5 … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors, Guest Authors | 2 Comments

Golinkin at First Year Academic Convocation

Alumnus Lev Golinkin, author of the memoir A Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka, will be the keynote speaker at First Year Academic Convocation on Sept. 7, at 7 p.m., in Conte Forum. Golinkin’s book is a heartbreaking and … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment