Category Archives: Alumni Authors

More from the Outcasts

Whispers of Spring, the third installment in Chuck Abdella‘s Outcasts fantasy book series, has been published. The series continues to follow the story of Octavia, Alexia, Quintus, Hector and friends. As the adventure continues, some secrets will be revealed, and others will … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Put on your game face

Boston College alumna Brigitte Henry Cooper has written four titles for the Game Face series published by Calico, an imprint of Magic Wagon/ABDO Publishing. Cooper’s books, which are geared for readers in elementary and middle school, feature a different girl and … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Advent reflections

Advent is a season of hopeful waiting for the light of Christ. A new publication from Boston College alumnus Daniel P. Horan, O.F.M. provides an opportunity for readers to pray and reflect on the meaning of Advent and Christmas. In Daybreaks: … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Lifting the fog

In the tradition of Thoreau’s Walden, Boston College graduate and former Presidential Scholar Will Dowd takes readers on a journey through a year of New England weather in Areas of Fog (Etruscan Press, 2017), a collection of essays that combines wit and poetry … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Blackbird

Boston College alumna N.D. Gomes has published her second novel, Blackbird (HarperCollins UK/HQ Young Adult, 2017), a young adult thriller. Set on the island of Orkney, Scotland, the book tells the story of 14-year-old Alex McCarthy’s quest to solve the … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Iceland Poppies

Boston College alumna Katherine St. Germain Smith applies her experience as a physician specializing in child and adolescent psychiatry into her new fantasy book for middle school readers. Life and therapeutic insights are woven into Iceland Poppies (Yorkshire Publishing, 2017), … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Dr. Philip Landrigan, children’s health advocate

Dr. Philip Landrigan, one of the world’s leading advocates of children’s health whose pioneering research on the effects of lead poisoning in children contributed to the U.S. government’s decision to remove lead from gasoline and paint, will present “The Impact … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment