Author Archives: Bookworm

Lifting the fog

In the tradition of Thoreau’s Walden, Boston College graduate and former Presidential Scholar Will Dowd takes readers on a journey through a year of New England weather in Areas of Fog (Etruscan Press, 2017), a collection of essays that combines wit and poetry … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Blackbird

Boston College alumna N.D. Gomes has published her second novel, Blackbird (HarperCollins UK/HQ Young Adult, 2017), a young adult thriller. Set on the island of Orkney, Scotland, the book tells the story of 14-year-old Alex McCarthy’s quest to solve the … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Creating a world beyond poverty

The Winston Center for Leadership and Ethics presents entrepreneur and author Jacqueline Novogratz on Nov. 20 at 5:30 p.m. in Robsham Theater for an evening focused on “Creating a World Beyond Poverty.” Novogratz is the founder and CEO of Acumen, a non-profit … Continue reading

Posted in Guest Authors, Winston Center for Leadership and Ethics | Tagged | Leave a comment

Environmental Martyrdom and Defenders of the Forest

Award-winning writer and environmental justice advocate Rob Nixon will present “Environmental Martyrdom and Defenders of the Forest” on Nov. 16 at 7:00 p.m. in the Murray Function Room at the Yawkey Athletics Center. Nixon is the author of four books, including Dreambirds: the … Continue reading

Posted in Guest Authors, Park Street Corporation Speaker Series | Tagged | Leave a comment

Telling Tales: Patience Agbabi

Poet and performer Patience Agbabi will present Telling Tales, her most recent book, on Nov. 15 at 7:00 p.m. in Gasson Hall, room 100. Agbabi has presented Telling Tales, a contemporary retelling of Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales, to audiences throughout the world, including in Namibia, … Continue reading

Posted in Guest Authors, Lowell Humanities Series | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Male survivors of sexual abuse

BC School of Social Work Associate Professor Scott Easton has contributed a chapter to the new book Understanding the Sexual Betrayal of Boys and Men: The Trauma of Sexual Abuse, edited by Richard B. Gartner. The book presents chapters from the leading experts … Continue reading

Posted in Boston College Authors | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Best Book Award for Erickson

Dangerous Trade: Conventional Arms Exports, Human Rights, and International Reputation (Columbia University Press), written by Associate Professor of Political Science and International Studies Jennifer L. Erickson, was awarded the 2017 Best Book Award by the Foreign Policy Section of American Political Science … Continue reading

Posted in Awards/Honors, Boston College Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment