Tag Archives: poetry

Greater Boston Intercollegiate Undergrad Poetry Festival

Students from nearly 20 area colleges and universities, including Boston College senior Walker Halstad, will read their original work at the 2018 Greater Boston Intercollegiate Undergraduate Poetry Festival, to be  hosted by Boston College today. Halstad, an English major and Hispanic Studies minor … Continue reading

Posted in Students | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Life on the farm

The Goats Songs (Univerity of North Texas Press, 2018) by Boston College Associate Professor of English James Najarian, has been awarded the Vassar Miller Prize in Poetry. Najarian’s debut collection is inspired by his upbringing on a farm in Pennsylvania and … Continue reading

Posted in Awards/Honors, Boston College Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Lubbock Electric

Anne Elezabeth Pluto, a faculty member in the Woods College of Advancing Studies, has published a book of poetry, Lubbock Electric (Nixes Mate Books, 2018). According to fellow poet Gene Barry, “Annie Pluto has an inbuilt ability to poetically emote … Continue reading

Posted in Boston College Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Lifting the fog

In the tradition of Thoreau’s Walden, Boston College graduate and former Presidential Scholar Will Dowd takes readers on a journey through a year of New England weather in Areas of Fog (Etruscan Press, 2017), a collection of essays that combines wit and poetry … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Poet Billy Collins

The Lowell Humanities Series will present former United States Poet Laureate (2001-03) Billy Collins on Oct. 4 at  7:00 p.m. in Gasson Hall, Room 100. Collins has published more than 10 collections of poetry, most recently The Rain in Portugal. His work has … Continue reading

Posted in Guest Authors, Lowell Humanities Series | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Arts Festival 2017

Boston College’s annual Arts Festival is a time for the BC community to gather and celebrate the visual, performing, and literary arts. Among the highlights in the literary arts this year are readings from seniors in the creative writing concentration (Apr. … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors, Boston College Authors, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Poet Juana Rosa Pita

Award-winning poet Juana Rosa Pita will read from her poetry and participate in a Q&A on April 27 at 6:30 p.m. in the McMullen Museum of Art. Pita was a friend of artist Rafael Soriano, whose work is on exhibit … Continue reading

Posted in Guest Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment