Tag Archives: poetry

Intercollegiate poetry festival

Students representing 24 Boston-area colleges and universities will read from their original poetry at the 2019 Greater Boston Intercollegiate Undergraduate Poetry Festival being held at Boston College April 16. Meg Kearney, founding director of the Solstice MFA in Creative Writing … Continue reading

Posted in Students | Tagged | Leave a comment

Alumnus poet C. Dale Young

BC alumnus C. Dale Young, a poet and writer, will read from his work on Oct. 17 at 7 p.m. in Devlin Hall, room 101.  Young is the author of four poetry collections, including Torn and The Halo,  and his novel … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors, Lowell Humanities Series | Tagged , | Leave a comment

A poet’s story

Lynne Spigelmire Viti, a Boston College graduate, reflects on her family history in her newly published poetry collection titled The Glamorganshire Bible (Finishing Line Press, 2018). Viti is also the author of Baltimore Girls, a poetry collection published last year, and a microchapbook, Punting, from Origami Poems … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged | Leave a comment

Greater Boston Intercollegiate Undergrad Poetry Festival

Students from nearly 20 area colleges and universities, including Boston College senior Walker Halstad, will read their original work at the 2018 Greater Boston Intercollegiate Undergraduate Poetry Festival, to be  hosted by Boston College today. Halstad, an English major and Hispanic Studies minor … Continue reading

Posted in Students | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Life on the farm

The Goats Songs (Univerity of North Texas Press, 2018) by Boston College Associate Professor of English James Najarian, has been awarded the Vassar Miller Prize in Poetry. Najarian’s debut collection is inspired by his upbringing on a farm in Pennsylvania and … Continue reading

Posted in Awards/Honors, Boston College Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Lubbock Electric

Anne Elezabeth Pluto, a faculty member in the Woods College of Advancing Studies, has published a book of poetry, Lubbock Electric (Nixes Mate Books, 2018). According to fellow poet Gene Barry, “Annie Pluto has an inbuilt ability to poetically emote … Continue reading

Posted in Boston College Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Lifting the fog

In the tradition of Thoreau’s Walden, Boston College graduate and former Presidential Scholar Will Dowd takes readers on a journey through a year of New England weather in Areas of Fog (Etruscan Press, 2017), a collection of essays that combines wit and poetry … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment