Category Archives: Alumni Authors

Love and marriage in today’s India

In India today, tradition is colliding with Western culture, creating an uneasy fusion whose impact is most evident in the institution of marriage. In her new book, The Heart Is a Shifting Sea: Love and Marriage in Mumbai (Harper, 2018), journalist … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

No more mean girls

Today’s generation of girls is becoming caught up in social hierarchies much earlier than previous generations and, thanks to social media and the “like” button, the pursuit of popularity is more public and insatiable than ever before. Boston College alumna … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment

More from the Outcasts

Whispers of Spring, the third installment in Chuck Abdella‘s Outcasts fantasy book series, has been published. The series continues to follow the story of Octavia, Alexia, Quintus, Hector and friends. As the adventure continues, some secrets will be revealed, and others will … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Put on your game face

Boston College alumna Brigitte Henry Cooper has written four titles for the Game Face series published by Calico, an imprint of Magic Wagon/ABDO Publishing. Cooper’s books, which are geared for readers in elementary and middle school, feature a different girl and … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Advent reflections

Advent is a season of hopeful waiting for the light of Christ. A new publication from Boston College alumnus Daniel P. Horan, O.F.M. provides an opportunity for readers to pray and reflect on the meaning of Advent and Christmas. In Daybreaks: … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Lifting the fog

In the tradition of Thoreau’s Walden, Boston College graduate and former Presidential Scholar Will Dowd takes readers on a journey through a year of New England weather in Areas of Fog (Etruscan Press, 2017), a collection of essays that combines wit and poetry … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Blackbird

Boston College alumna N.D. Gomes has published her second novel, Blackbird (HarperCollins UK/HQ Young Adult, 2017), a young adult thriller. Set on the island of Orkney, Scotland, the book tells the story of 14-year-old Alex McCarthy’s quest to solve the … Continue reading

Posted in Alumni Authors | Tagged , | Leave a comment